readingchallenge

Jane Austen July 2022 TBR

Photo by Leah Kelley on Pexels.com

Jane Austen July is a fairly self-explanatory, month-long readathon all about reading Jane Austen and related works. I’ve took part in 2020 — I enjoyed both Northanger Abbey and Lady Susan — but missed it last year. Since I’ve still got all the other Austen novels to read, I’m determined to knock out at least one this year.

The readathon is hosted by  Katie @ Books and Things, Marissa @ Blatantly Bookish and Claudia @ Spinster’s Library.

Announcement video, with all the information, prompts and suggestions, here.

There are 7 prompts, but I’ll be keeping this very simple and missing out a couple.

1. Read one of Jane Austen’s six novels

The group readalong is PRIDE AND PREDJUDICE and I’m very tempted by that since I feel like one, as a booklover, I absolutely have to pick up in order to keep my ‘reader’ membership card. However, with the new PERSUASION adaption out in July, I think I’m going to go for that, much less popular, story. P&P can go on the back burner again.

2. Read something by Jane Austen that is not one of her main six novels

3. Read a non-fiction work about Jane Austen or her time

In Bed with the Georgians: Sex, Scandal and Satire in the 18th Century By Mike Rendell

4. Read a retelling of a Jane Austen book or a work of historical fiction set in Jane Austen’s time

DRAMA AND DANGER (The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries, #1) by J.T. Williams

A thrilling middle grade mystery series, perfect for fans of Robin Steven’s Murder Most Unladylike . Set in eighteenth-century London, with all the fun and zest of Hamilton, Bridgerton fashion and inspired by real Black British historical figures.

5. Read a book by a contemporary of Jane Austen (ie, published between 1775–1817)

Last time I took part in this readathon I read A Simple Story by Elizabeth Inchbald for this prompt and really enjoyed it. A quick google search shows that some of the most popular female contemporary’s of Austen were Ann Radcliffe, Fanny Burney, Elizabeth Inchbald and Maria Edgeworth. Since Radcliffe is the only one I haven’t read at least something from, I’ll be trying THE MYSTERIES OF UDOLPHO (which is actually mentioned in Northanger Abbey). This is the lowest priority for this month though.

6. Watch a direct screen adaptation of a Jane Austen book

The reason I’m reading PERSUASION this year, Netflix has a new adaption out mid-month so I’m really hoping I can read the book then watch this.

7. Watch a modern screen adaptation of a Jane Austen book

Just to round out the Persuasion trend this year, I might try the Rational Creatures webseries on YouTube. And/or, if I can find it streaming anywhere, I do really love Bride and Prejudice.

6 thoughts on “Jane Austen July 2022 TBR”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s