Review: Monster of the Week

monster of the week

MONSTER OF THE WEEK
F T LUKENS
SERIES: The Rules #2
REPRESENTATION: m/m relationship, bisexual MC
GENRES/ SUBJECTS: YA Urban Fantasy

★★★★★

GOODREADS

AMAZON

Review of The Rules and Regulations for Mediating Myths and Magic.

 

Monster of the Week (The Rules #2)

Spring semester of Bridger Whitt’s senior year of high school is looking great. He has the perfect boyfriend, a stellar best friend, and an acceptance letter to college. He also has this incredible job as an assistant to Pavel Chudinov, an intermediary tasked with helping cryptids navigate the modern world. His days are filled with kisses, laughs, pixies, and the occasional unicorn.

Life is awesome.

But as graduation draws near, Bridger’s perfect life begins to unravel. Uncertainties about his future surface, his estranged dad shows up out of nowhere, and, perhaps worst of all, a monster-hunting television show arrives in town to investigate the series of strange events from last fall. The show’s intrepid host will not be deterred, and Bridger finds himself trapped in a game of cat and mouse that could very well put the myth world at risk.

Again.

 

Monster of the Week is the sequel to The Rules and Regulations for Mediating Myths and Magic.

I’ve been looking forward to this book release since I heard it was coming out: you know I’m excited when I pre-order an ebook! I gave the first book a 5-star rating, and you can check out my review of that book here.

I loved Bridger just as much this time around. He’s an amazing protagonist! I love the way Lukens can combine the sarcastic personality and dry wit — which still reminds me very much of Percy Jackson — with a vulnerability and real likeable, everyman quality. Poor Bridger has a whole bundle of anxiety issues and the occasional panic attack, but still puts himself into the thick of it to protect his friends. He felt incredibly ‘real’ to me and read like a completely believable awkward teen.

In this instalment, Bridger has settled into his job and his relationship with hero Leo is going strong come up but that doesn’t mean he doesn’t have things to worry about. Nothing’s ever easy, is it? His absentee dad has re-entered the scene, the kids are getting ready for both their graduation and their prom, and a tenacious reporter has arrived to unearth evidence of the cryptids it’s Bridger’s job to protect.

I think it’s great fun!

There’s just enough local folklore and magic to set this firmly in the Urban Fantasy camp but these are really character-driven stories, and the characters are amazing! From Astrid (Bridger’s BFF) to Leo (an actual Hero) to his boss Pavel, every character feels believable, fully formed, and well-written. The relationships between the characters likewise are all incredibly strong from friendship, romantic and mother-son. I especially like than Luken doesn’t feel a need to disrupt the established relationship or have the “miscommunication-leads-to-avoidable-drama” thing. I especially, especially liked how consent was dealt with.

Lukens has said on Goodreads that this is the final instalment, but I’ve got my fingers and toes crossed that she’ll change her mind someday.
Monster of the Week and The Rules and Regulations for Mediating Myths and Magic are two of my very favourite YA urban fantasy. An absolute must for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter.

 

 

More bloggers reviews to check out

Punk-Ass Book Jockey

Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words

Almost, Almost

2 thoughts on “Review: Monster of the Week

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s