waitingonwed

WOW: A Thousand Fires

waiting on wednesday

A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

Expected Publication: November 5th 2019

Page Count: 272

Genres: YA Contemporary

 

GOODREADS

AMAZON

 

A Thousand FiresShannon Price’s A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut―think The Outsiders meets The Iliad―that’s perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl’s Epic Quest…

An extraordinary debut set in San Francisco and inspired by The Iliad…

Valerie Simons knows the city’s gang wars are dangerous—her own brother was killed by the Boars two years ago. But nothing will sway her from joining the elite and beautiful Herons to avenge his death—a death she feels responsible for.

But when Valerie is recruited by the mysterious Stags, their charismatic and volatile leader Jax promises to help her get revenge. Torn between old love and new loyalty, Valerie fights to stay alive as she races across the streets of San Francisco to finish the mission that got her into the gangs. 

 

REASONS I’M EXCITED FOR A THOUSAND FIRES

Retelling of The Iliad set in modern San Francisco.

Queer rep and #ownvoices for Filipina representation.

Rival gangs! 

8 thoughts on “WOW: A Thousand Fires”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s