Books to Read if You Love Hamilton

hamiltonrecs

If you’re a fan of Hamilton: An American Musical — or even if you’re not — I’ve got a readathon coming up that’s going to be perfect for you!

#Hamilthon will be running throughout the entire month of March, and I’ll have all the information and a sign-up post going up next week on February 11th. So please come back for that!

For the readathon, the prompts will be inspired by the musical, but you can read any book that you think fits: it doesn’t need to be Hamilton-related in any way e.g. one prompt will be “Read a book with a name in the title” so you could read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Jane Eyre or From Twinkle, With Love.

But if you did want to include some really Hamilton-related books into your #Hamilthon TBR — or your TBR in general — I’ve found some pretty interesting ones which you could try. I’ve only read two of these (Hamilton: The Revolution and Burr) so I’d love to hear your thoughts and any other suggestions.

 

Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
The biography that inspired Lin-Manuel Miranda to write the musical.

 

Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
Behind the scenes notes about the writing and production of the show.

 

The Federalist Papers by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison & John Jay
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
In case you’d like to try reading something written by the man himself.

 

Historical Fiction

 

America’s First Daughter by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie
Goodreads // BookDepository
“In a compelling, richly researched novel that draws from thousands of letters and original sources, bestselling authors Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie tell the fascinating, untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s eldest daughter, Martha “Patsy” Jefferson Randolph—a woman who kept the secrets of our most enigmatic founding father and shaped an American legacy.”

 

Jefferson’s Sons by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Goodreads // BookDepository
“Told in three parts from the points of view of three of Jefferson’s slaves – Beverly, Madison, and a third boy close to the Hemings family – these engaging and poignant voices shed light on what life was like as one of Jefferson’s invisible offspring.”

 

I, Eliza Hamilton by Susan Holloway Scott
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
“In this beautifully written novel of historical fiction, bestselling author Susan Holloway Scott tells the story of Alexander Hamilton’s wife, Eliza—a fascinating, strong-willed heroine in her own right and a key figure in one of the most gripping periods in American history.”

 

The Hamilton Affair by Elizabeth Cobbs
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
“Set against the dramatic backdrop of the American Revolution, and featuring a cast of iconic characters such as George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and the Marquis de Lafayette, The Hamilton Affair tells the sweeping, tumultuous, true love story of Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler, from tremulous beginning to bittersweet ending”

 

Hamilton’s Battalion: A Trio of Romances by Courtney Milan, Alyssa Cole and Rose Lerner
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
“On October 14, 1781, Alexander Hamilton led a daring assault on Yorktown’s defenses and won a decisive victory in America’s fight for independence. Decades later, when Eliza Hamilton collected his soldiers’ stories, she discovered that while the war was won at Yorktown, the battle for love took place on many fronts…”

 

Hamilton and Peggy! By L. M. Elliot
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
“When a flirtatious aide-de-camp to General Washington named Alexander Hamilton writes an eloquent letter to Peggy asking for her help in wooing the earnest Eliza, Peggy is skeptical but finds herself unable to deny such an impassioned plea. Thus begins her own journey into the Revolution!”

 

My Dear Hamilton by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
“Haunting, moving, and beautifully written, Dray and Kamoie used thousands of letters and original sources to tell Eliza’s story as it’s never been told before—not just as the wronged wife at the center of a political sex scandal—but also as a founding mother who shaped an American legacy in her own right.”

 

Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
“Their romance shaped a nation. The rest was history.”
(Three book YA series).

 

Burr by Gore Vidal
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
“In 1833, Burr is newly married, an aging statesman considered a monster by many. Burr retains much of his political influence if not the respect of all. And he is determined to tell his own story. As his amanuensis, he chooses Charles Schermerhorn Schuyler, a young New York City journalist, and together they explore both Burr’s past and the continuing political intrigues of the still young United States.”

 

Non-Fiction

There’s a huge amount of non-fiction available on Hamilton, Washington, Jefferson and the entire time period covered by the show. Some characters — like the women, of course… — are harder to find books about, but, if you want to try some non-fiction there should be plenty to choose from. I’ve just picked a few which stood out to me.

 

Alexander Hamilton, Revolutionary by Martha Brockenbrough
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
A biography aimed at teen and YA readers.

 

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States by Sarah Vowell
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
A humourous look at everyone’s favourite fighting Frenchman.

 

Jefferson’s Daughters: Three Sisters, White and Black, in a Young America by Catherine Kerrison
Goodreads // amazon.com
“The remarkable untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s three daughters – two white and free, one black and enslaved – and the divergent paths they forged in a newly independent America.”

 

Alexander Hamilton: The Fighting Founding Father! by Mark Shulman, Kelly Tindall and John Roshell
Goodreads // Wordery // BookDepository
There are actually a couple of Hamilton graphic novels, but this one comes out in March, when our readathon is running.

 

Please check back next week, on Monday February 11th, for the #Hamilthon sign-ups and information post.

Advertisements

11 thoughts on “Books to Read if You Love Hamilton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s