REVIEW: THE SIN EATER’S DAUGHTER

sin

THE SIN EATER’S DAUGHTER
MELINDA SALISBURY

SERIES: THE SIN EATER’S DAUGHTER, #1
GENRES/ SUBJECTS: HIGH FANTASY, ROMANCE, YA
★★★☆

GOODREADS LINK

The Sin Eater’s Daughter (The Sin Eater’s Daughter, #1)Image1

Sixteen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, no one speaks to her. No one even looks at her. Because Twylla isn’t a member of the court. She’s the executioner. As the goddess-embodied, Twylla kills with a single touch. So each week, she’s taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love her. Who could care for a girl with murder in her veins? Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to her touch, avoids her.But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose playful smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he’s able to look past Twylla’s executioner robes and see the girl, not the goddess. Yet a treasonous romance is the least of Twylla’s problems. The queen has a plan to destroy her enemies-a plan that requires an unthinkable sacrifice. Will Twylla do what it takes to protect her kingdom? Or will she abandon her duty in favor of a doomed love?


Image2

What I liked.
The writing is really lovely, very rich and descriptive. I listened to the audiobook, and loved the narrator that was chosen. She has a gorgeous voice and accent which works really well with the writing.

The world-building is wonderful. The ideas of both sin eating and Dornan-embodied are really clever and unusual, and I like the way both were executed and the parts they played in the story.

I though the queen was a great villain and really hateful. She really balanced on the line of being too much but the mention of her feeling cursed by her loses at the end, hinted at vulnerability just enough to humanise her. It might have been ever better if this had happened a little sooner, but she was still a cool bad-guy.

That plot twist! There were a couple throughout the book, but the one at the end killed me with shock.

What I disliked.
Twylla is nice but a far too passive for my taste, always waiting to be protected or saved. True, a lot of this was due to needs of the plot, but it was especially annoying when she geared herself up with lots of self-reflection and internal monologue only to carry on as before. For the pages of internal debate analysis, you’d think we’d end up with a more defined, if not stronger, personality.

Insta-love. Sigh. Love Triangle. Sigh. I did like though, that there was some real choice involved, some practical weighing of the pros and cons of each boy, not just oh woe is me, how can I choose. On a related note, the pacing was one of my biggest problems with this book. There were long drawn-out stretches where nothing seemed to happen, and unfortunately, a lot of these seemed to be there just to stretch out Twylla and Leif’s courtship and her romantic dilemmas.

Ultimately? Lots of potential here, especially in the set-ups and twists at the end. I’ll probably at least read the next in the trilogy.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: THE SIN EATER’S DAUGHTER

  1. Emma says:

    Ooh good to see your thoughts on this book. I am still on the fence as to whether I will read it, but considering I am looking for good audiobooks to listen to maybe I will check this out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Louise says:

      I really, really liked the narrator although I’m not entirely sure why XD I’m not 100% sure I’ll continue the series but as an audiobook I’d reccommend it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

