Writing Post: Writers Life Tag

writingheader

I saw this tag on Gossiping with Dragons. I’m not sure where it originates but it looked like fun.

What Kind of Writer Are You?

A disorganised one? Genre-wise I’m firmly in the SFF camp, although I move around the subgenres a lot.

When Did You Start Writing? What Made You Want To Give It A Go?

I loved writing as a kid, loved the planning stage as a teenager and lost all interest while I was at university (essay-writing just killed it for me) but I was still coming up with ideas in my head. I started writing short stories and little things just for myself about five years ago but was really inspired to challenge myself a few Camp NaNoWriMo’s ago.

What Inspires Your Stories?

New takes on old characters/ stories, what-if questions, images I’ve seen (Pinterest is great for this).

What Themes Do You Like To Explore In Your Stories?

Characters learning about themselves, all sorts of relationships (romance, friendship, family etc.)

Are You A Panster, A Plotter, Or a Bit Of Both?

A bit of both. I have the start, end and quarter marks plus a few interesting scenes. Then I just sort of work the rest of it around that.

Where Are You In Your Journey? Querying, Agented, Published?

Still trying to write a draft that’s worth publishing.

Have You Ever Entered Any Writing Contests? Finaled? Won?

Nope.

Who Are Your Writer Heroes?

Leigh Bardugo, Anna-Marie McLemore, Roshani Chokshi, Terry Pratchett, Rick Riordan

Have You Ever Been To A Writers’ Conference? Share Your Best/Worse

Nope again. But I’d love to one day.

Top 3 Tips You’d Give To Newbie Writers

First drafts are ugly. That’s okay.

Find what works for you (planning vs plotting, handwriting vs typing, morning vs evening) and do it – don’t bother with other writer’s telling you there’s a right or wrong way.

Write what interests you, not because the genre etc is popular. You’ll lose momentum if you don’t care.

 

Do you have answers to any of the questions? I’d love to see your thoughts in the comments or consider yourself tagged and fill out the full thing for you.

6 thoughts on “Writing Post: Writers Life Tag

Leave a Reply

