TTT: Series I Want to Start

toptentues

June 20: Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t (topic originally done March 2013) — anyone else have a mile long list of series to start like I do??

I’ve tried to pick series that have been out for a while or at the very least have a couple of instalments already out, so I’ve ignored a lot of recently released first instalments which I want to read as well. I’ve put a couple of points for each that have intrigued me but feel free to correct any misassumptions and tell me which series are/ aren’t worth the time.

Kate Daniels
Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews
*    Urban Fantasy
*    Female protagonist
*    Magic vs. Technology

Gregor the Underlander
Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins
*    Middle Grade
*    Adventure/ Fantasy
*    Hidden underground world

earthschildren.jpg
Earth’s Children by Jean M. Auel
* Historical Adventure
* Uncommon time-period: Ice Age
* Recc’d by a friend I trust

Looking Glass Wars
The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor
*    Alice in Wonderland retelling
*    Darker, more realistic take?

Unwind
Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman
*    Dystopian
*    Organ collection
*    Fight the System

KingKillerChronicles
The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss
*    Epic Fantasy
*    Being adapted for TV with Lin-Manuel Miranda
*    Recc’d by a friend I trust

ttmt.jpg
Taj Mahal Trilogy by Indu Sundaresan
*    1577 India
*    Why can’t I find a Kindle copy anywhere *sob*?

dorothy_must_die_series.jpg
Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige
* Wizard of Oz Retelling
* Good guys are bad guys?

untitled.png
The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
* Emotional sucker punch
* Unusual format
* Sci-Fi Dystopian

Sevenwaters.png
Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier
* Ancient Ireland
* The Wild Swans retelling
* All the feels

Screen-Shot-2016-06-28-at-11_37_00-PM.png
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
* Gorgeous covers
* Loads of rec’s

26 thoughts on “TTT: Series I Want to Start

  1. Lynn says:

    Great list! I really like the Kate Daniels series! I hope you’ll enjoy it too! Really want to read Daughter of the Forest as well! I’ve heard such good things about her books! I haven’t heard about the Taj Mahal Trilogy yet, but it looks amazing, I’ll have to add it to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. utopiastateofmind says:

    OMG I LOVED the Kate Daniels ones. They aren’t necessarily the best and I haven’t read them in forever, but when I was in College my roommate and I devoured these. ALSO I love the Sevenwaters one, I mean the first one totally captivates you and the next ones are just great. I haven’t read those in a while either though 😦

    I’m with you on Illuminae and the Partik Rothfuss ones 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Toni-Emma @ Book & Bloom says:

    Great list! I read the Earths Children series as a teenager and I absolutely loved it. I’ve recently put it back on my TBR shelf so that I can reread it sometime in the near future.

    You can check out my Top Ten Tuesday HERE

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michelle @ Pink Polka Dot Books says:

    The Unwind series has been on my TBR for a LONG time (well actually, I didn’t KNOW it was a series until recently, so the first book has been on my TBR at least!). I read the first Dorothy book and MEH. Then I read the first book in her other series, Stealing Snow, and I was like NO!!! So I think I’m gonna chill on Danielle Paige for a while. I haven’t read Gemina yet. I’m a bad blogger 😦 BUT I didn’t think Illuminae was worth THAT much hype. It was good and I liked the format, but the characters weren’t amazing or different in any way to me. I hope you like it better than I did!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

