Sunshine Blogger Award Tag

tag base

Thank you to Lili @ Utopia State of Mind for the nomination, you can read her post with her great answers here.

The Rules.award31

Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.

Answer the eleven questions sent by the person who nominated you.

Nominate eleven blogs to receive the award and write them eleven new questions.

List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or your blog.

Here are the questions I was asked 🙂

If you wanted to steal something, who would be on your crew and why?
Kaz and the crew from Six of Crows obviously. Cinder from The Lunar Chronicles, she knows a little something about escape, and her cyborg abilities might come in very handy. Hermione – because genius and magic, duh. Possibly Mia from Nevernight? Her ability to move between shadows would be useful for breaking in anywhere and she has plenty of other creepy skills. And if I’m allowed tv characters too, the Leverage crew and the TARDIS.

leverage___intro_by_carmenackles-d35jfve.gif

What is your favorite form of book? Paperback, Hardback, E-Book, Audiobook?
I love them all for different reasons. I love pbk and hbk for stroking and putting on my bookcase, but I carry my kindle everywhere and listen to audiobook while walking to work. Sometimes this means I have three or four books on the go though.

If you could change one thing about the publishing industry, what would it be?
To be more open to new ideas/ voices, to take on more risks, or what are stories which are considered to be risks.

What is the one book you could give to everyone?
The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace.

Image result for princess gif

Name a book that has changed your life and how.
I know it’ll be a common answer, but Harry Potter. It had such a huge and welcoming fandom, and I was the perfect age to need all the new friends and voices it provided. I came out if my shell, survived high-school, made new friends and found people talking about all sort of subjects which I really needed to hear about, all through the lens of the books.

If you could put together a curriculum of important books, a literary canon, what books would be on it?
Something by Shakespeare, ideally Romeo and Juliet if only to see all the dick jokes in it, to see that ‘worthy literature’ is for anyone, and not as intimating as people seem to want you to think (and cause it’s a fun one). I’d also have the Rick Riordan books, narrowed down somehow, because they’re a great intro for kids into all different kinds of diversity and marginalised characters.

giphy.gif

How do you feel about re-reading books?
I’ve got lots of books I’d love to go back and reread, either because they were so good, or just for nostalgia, I just never get the time what with there being so many awesome sounding books that I haven’t read at all yet. I’ve reread a few though.

What would your ultimate book have in it? Would it be a world of flying unicorns in a political war with the neighboring mermaids?
Yes. That. Go write it now! Something fantasy-based with cool/ underused creatures, concepts or stories.

giphy

What is the ultimate deal breaker for a book?
Great timing, I just posted a TTT about this. You can read all my grumpy old-lady pet-peeves here.

How do you organize your bookshelves?
By throwing everything at it… at the moment it’s a mixing of higgldy-piggldy stacked books, some Funko Pops and book-themed candles. One day I’ll sort it though and I’d like to organise by colour.

If you had to gift a child a book that would inspire their imagination, which would you choose?
Riordan and Rowling, see above. The Chronicles of Narnia (just avoid all the religious undertones), The Princess and the Goblin, Tamora Pierce’s Wild Magic and Circle of Magic books and The Hunger Games. And, although I haven’t read them yet, The Gauntlet and Midnight Without a Moon look incredible.

Image result for narnia gif

And here are 11 questions for my nominees.

1. Which book recent read has most surprised you (for good or bad)?
2. Do you have any non-reading/blogging hobbies?
3. What 2017 release are you most looking forward to?
4. What’s your favourite TV series or movie?
5. Which book or series would you most like to see adapted for the screen?
6. Which type of posts do you enjoy writing most?
7. Do you have a book that you love, that everyone else seems to hate? Or vice-versa?
8. If you could ask one author one question, who and what would it be?
9. Edited to add: What’s your favourite type of blog post to write?
10. Favourite underrated author or book?
11. If you could only rec one book, which would it be?

I nominate:

Huntress of Diverse Books
I Live and Breathe Words
Novel Paradise
The Books Prophet
YA and Wine
Booklovers’ Blog
What the Log
Ravishng Tales
The Book Raven
Rose Read
A Book Without End
…and anyone I’ve forgotten because I’d love to see everyone’s answers.

6 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award Tag

  1. KrystiYAandWine says:

    Congratulations!!! And thank you so much for tagging YA and Wine! Super appreciate that. I also would love to see more underwater fantasy that is really well done. That is such a tough thing to do and make believable.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. utopiastateofmind says:

    Yes to the tardis and tamora pierce!! Such great answers. As soon as I saw this email in my inbox I knew I had to comment, but Internet in Scotland has been super strange! Anyway, love the tag!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

