Writing Post: YA/MG Tag

writingheader

This is an old tag, but has some cool questions, so thanks to Allison the Writer for creating it.

1. Who are your favorite authors, and do they influence your writing?

Leigh Bardugo, Anna-Marie McLemore, Roshani Chokshi, Terry Pratchett, Rick Riordan

They probably do, definetly in genre etc, but probably in other ways I haven’t noticed.

2. Why do you write?

The cliche – I like stories. Hearing them, telling them, whatever.

 

3. Is writing something you (would) do for a living, or is it just a hobby?

I would love to publish one day, but I don’t think I could ever make it into an entire living.

 

4. Do you enjoy reading the same genres that you enjoy writing? Why or why not?

I love reading and writing fantasy, within that I’ll switch things up, but there’s nearly always some fantasy elements. There’s enough variation in the genre I’ve never gotten tired of it.

 

5. If you could use one GIF to describe your writerly self, what would it be?

Somewhere between these two…

 

6. How do you deal with writers’ block?

Go for a walk, take a shower or browse Pinterest.

 

7. How do you feel about writing explicit content (e.g. “curse words” or suggestive content) in books for young people? Why?

I don’t have a problem reading it, especially in YA. I find it a little unlikely if the character’s swearing around their parents, but other than that? I know I swore like a sailor by the time I was 12. I personally wouldn’t use it in my writing except on the rarest occasion, though, it’s just not that impressive.

 

8. Have you written books for adults before/after writing for young readers? What’s the transition between genres like?

I didn’t used to consider what age group I was writing when it was just for me, but I’ve stayed in the YA camp lately because it’s what I read the most.

 

9. What do you think of self-publishing versus traditional publishing? If you’ve only published traditionally, would you ever self-publish? And if you’re a self-published author, would you ever go the traditional route?

Both are terrifying for totally different reasons! I’d probably try tradition first as I work full time and self-publish seems like a huge time and learning commitment to do it properly.

 

10. What’s one question you’ve been dying to ask other MG/YA writers?

What would you like to see more of in terms of genre, characters, themes etc? What would you like to see less of?

 

Any thoughts to share? I’d love to hear them in the comments or consider yourself tagged! 🙂

Leave a Reply

