TTT: Reading Turn-Ons

toptentues

April 18: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book (topic originally done back in 2013 as top ten words/topics that will make me instantly want to read a book) — so yeah basically any topic or theme or ANYTHING (ie if X person recommends it) that will make you instantly want to pick up a book.

***

1. Retellings. Take a look over what I tend to review and this will come as no surprise. I am, and probably will always be, a total sucker for a retelling, adaption or other new take on a familiar character, story or idea.

2. Heists or con-artists. Six of Crows, Leverage, White Collar. Morally grey characters and a ‘how the hell will they pull this off’? Sold!

leverage___intro_by_carmenackles-d35jfve

3. #ownvoices. Not that non-ownvoices are bad, but this will always motivate me to try something, even if it’s not a genre I usually read, because there’s a much better chance of the rep being well done.

4. No-nonsense, snarky heroines in the vein of Hermione Granger, Annabeth Chase, Amelia Peabody and Alexia Tarabotti etc.

5. Mythology. Similar to retelling. Let me know there’s some cool mythology worked in their and I’ll pick it up.

6. Comp Titles. I don’t know why, but I respond really well to these. If you can frame something as Mary Poppins meets World or Warcraft, or Star Wars in the 1800s, you can probably convince me to at least try it. Bonus point for anyone who finds/ writes either of these.

imagesOHICS0XP.jpg

7. Well-written female characters. Not always the same as the Strong Female Character TM. Show me different types of women, with strengths and weaknesses, hopes, dreams and flaws. And let them all actually interact with each other!

8. Superheroes. I was the world’s biggest Batman fan as a kid. No really, I slept with a batmobile instead of a teddy. There’s a lot of graphic-novels I love, but it seems really hard to make superheroes work in a novel. I’ve enjoyed a few (Not Your Sidekick, Dreadnought and Hero) and I have super-high hopes for Wonder Woman and Renegades, but I’m always on the lookout for more.

giphy

9. Author-love. Once I find a writer I love, I want to read anything they’ve ever written, even if it’s a different genre, category etc. so this is a really easy way to sell me on a book.

10. Cover-love. Because I’m a horrible, shallow, despicable human being. I really thought ebooks would change all this, but I’m just as swayed by pretty pixels something I can put on my shelf. I’m not saying I won’t reading something with a bland or ugly cover, but I’m more willing to give a bland idea a go if it’s nicely packaged. Sad, but true.

Just some gorgeous covers to leave you with πŸ™‚

What will guarantee that you pick up a new book?

14 thoughts on “TTT: Reading Turn-Ons

  1. Maraia says:

    This is a great list! I love most of these as well. I’ve seen heists/cons on almost everyone’s lists today, and I can’t believe I forgot it. I definitely love #4 and #7. It’s disappointing that #7 even needs to be mentioned. It should be a given! If you like retellings, have you read any of Juliet Marillier’s books?
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Louise says:

      Yeah, it’s really sad that a realistic female character is still something to be remarked upon…
      I haven’t read any of Marillier’s work, but I do have Daughter of the Forest on my kindle. I think it’s the first in a long series? I wasn’t aware that it was a retelling though, thanks! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Maraia says:

        Eeeep, I really hope you read it soon! It’s amazing. It’s actually the first of a trilogy. There are technically three more books in the series, but it was originally written as a trilogy. The second set of three books came way later and has a very different feel, so I consider them a separate trilogy. You’d be fine reading just the first three. And it’s a retelling of The Six Swans. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Holly says:

    Retellings are one of my bookish weaknesses as well, though I’ve read my fair share of ones that don’t quite succeed in hitting the nail on the head when it comes to balancing the original story with a creative new twist. Any recommendations for ones you’ve really loved?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

