TOP 10 TUESDAY: UNIQUE

April 11: Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read (topic originally done 4/14) Some variations: top ten unique sounding books on my TBR, top ten most unique books I’ve read in X genre, etc

Okay, so this was a really difficult prompt. I wanted to be strict with it, not just saying, ‘it’s unique because I loved it so much’ because honestly, I would have a list 50 books long. So I’e only managed 5 this week, but I think that each on has something really unique going for it.

Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children 
Ransom Riggs
What’s Unique? Creepy, vintage black and white photo’s that have been used to inspire the plot are included at the relevant portions of the story.

Discworld
Terry Pratchett
What’s Unique? Not only is this my favourite series of all time, and not only is it hysterical. But, the footnotes. I know other authors use footnotes in fiction works too, but no-one uses them as well as Pratchett. Sometimes they add extra information, sometimes they’re completely unrelated, sometimes they’re the punchline to a joke. I think the footnotes are just as brilliant as the main text, and I’m never tempted to skim them.

Carry On
Rainbow Rowell
What’s Unique? The magic system here takes the idea that words have power and runs with it. At first, all the everyday, cliches and phrases, song lyrics and nursery rhymes etc as spell grated on me as too cheesy. But I really grew to enjoy the ridiculousness of it. And it’s definitely unique.

And I Darken
Kiersten White
What’s Unique? Well, first it’s a historical, gender-switched Vlad the Impaler retelling which is pretty unique, no? But more importantly is Lada’s character. It’s so rare to find an unashamedly not nice female protagonist. She’s not secretly conflicted and ready to break down in the right man’s arms; she got a goal and she’ll sacrifice anything and anyone to get it.

My Lady Jane
Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows
What’s Unique? The narrator’s voice. I loved the contrast between the sassy, modern voice and the historical setting (and the fact it was intentional, not just bad writing) and the way that the narrators jumped into the story sometimes, breaking the fourth wall.

9 thoughts on “TOP 10 TUESDAY: UNIQUE

  1. elenalove97 says:

    I added Miss Peregrine’s on my list as well! The pictures are definitely my favorite part and they add a unique spin to the story. All the other books on your list are on my TBR and hopefully, I’ll get around to reading them soon! Hope you have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

