Writing Post #1

writingheader.png

So lately I’ve noticed that the pile of my TBR book is threatening to topple over and bury me, and also that I’ve not really got any book reviews scheduled ahead.

screenshot-2017-03-02-16-57-54I’m reading a lot less at the moment, not because I don’t want to but because I’m struggling with time management a little. I work full-time and I used to get through a lot of audiobooks while I worked. At the moment, I’ve moved office and the way things are, I’m just not able to do that. The reason I’ve been reading a lot less at home is that I’ve been trying to get a lot more done on my writing project.

Sooo… to I’ve decided to post some blogs about my writing, just to make sure I don’t lose the habit of keeping this blog active.

I don’t have a proper summary/ pitch yet but the gist is:

  • 1805 Scotland
  • YA – Mystery, Historical, Fantasy
  • F/F Romance
  • Bride of Frankenstein Retelling/ Sequel/ Thing
  • 1st person/ single POV
  • Current Length: 42,600
  • Target: I’d like to write 750 – 1,000 a day, and hopefully finish this draft in the first half of Camp NaNo, mid-April. We’ll see.

At the moment I’m at approx 40,000 and I’ve written a lot of the easy scenes and starting to fill in the more challenging gaps. I’ve also started to look for critique partners online to keep me accountable and motivated.

Any other writers out there have any tricks for staying motivated? Or does anyone have any strategies for finding more reading time?

10 thoughts on “Writing Post #1

  1. Huntress of Diverse Books says:

    Your story sounds very interesting. Strategies for reading time…well, I eat while reading. I’m starting a job soon, so I’m hoping to be able to read while commuting to work and in lunch breaks. Of course, it won’t look weird if I do so during work breaks as I’m in a book store 😀 .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

