TOP 10 TUESDAY: Books I liked less

Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would (recently or all time) — or you could do something like books I liked more/less than everyone else. From The Broke and the Bookish.

My last review, for Heartless, was one where I seem to have felt really, really differently from the majority of reviewers, which got me thinking. So I decided to go for the ‘less than’ topic. Most of the books on this list, I don’t actually think are bad I just wasn’t as impressed as other reviewers, or as I had expected to be.

10 Books I liked Less than Everyone Else

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's

Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s “Learned” by Lena Durham
This is the absolute top of the books I dislike. I hated this book, it was so dull and Durham got on my nerves endlessly.
My Rating: 1 star – Goodreads Rating: 3.33 stars

The Witch

The WitchΒ byΒ Shirley Jackson
I’ve like other Jackson stories, I just didn’t get this one.
My Rating:Β 1 star – Goodreads Rating: 3.57 stars

Ghost Story (The Dresden Files,  #13)

Ghost Story (The Dresden Files #13) by Jim Butcher
This is one of my absolute favorite series but I definetly felt like this book was the weak link.
My Rating: 2 stars – Goodreads Rating: 4.25 stars

Vicious

Vicious (Vicious #1) by V.E. Schwab
I was bored and didn’t care about the characters at all. I’m so glad I gave Schwab another try though because I loved A Darker Shade of Magic.
My Rating: 2 stars – Goodreads Rating: 4.24 stars.

The Alchemist

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
I just found this one a bit patronising and repetitive.
My Rating: 2 stars – Goodreads Rating: 3.81 stars.

The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath & the Dawn, #1)

The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) by Renee Ahdieh
I did enjoy this book, just not as much as everyone else. Too much romance maybe? Or too much hype? I’m not sure.
My Rating: 3 stars – Goodreads Rating: 4.21 stars.

Unhinged (Splintered, #2)

Unhinged (Splintered #2) by A.G. Howard
I liked books 1 and 3 but this one definately felt like a filler to me. Not enough plot, not enough Wonderland and far too much Jeb.
My Rating: 3 stars – Goodreads Rating: 4.27 stars.

The Night Circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
I struggle a bit with magical realism I think (although I adored When the Moon Was Ours) but mostly I think this was another hype problem. I did enjoy it, just not as much as I expected.
My Rating: 3 stars – Goodreads Rating: 4.03 stars.

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare
The world and setting and some of the background characters are really interesting, but the main characters just ruined it all for me.
My Rating: 3 stars – Goodreads Rating: 4.12 stars.

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas
Sacralige, I know. Another one I did actually really like, it just didn’t blow my mind the way it seems to have for others.
My Rating: 3.5/4 stars – Goodreads Rating: 4.12 stars.

26 thoughts on “TOP 10 TUESDAY: Books I liked less

  1. raven avery says:

    I did love TMI series and The Night Circus but when I read them I actually hadn’t heard that much hype around them, and I have had other books ruined for me due to too much expectation from hype!! Although I would also recommend the Infernal devices series!! I’ve heard a lot of people say the same about Maas’s books, so I don’t think I’ll go near them yet πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. happilyeverchapter says:

    I really like that you compared your rating with the Goodreads rating. Great idea! I have quite a few of these on my TBR list. Like: ACOTAR, The Night Circus, and The Wrath & the Dawn. I own ACOTAR but haven’t gotten to it yet. We’ll have to see how it goes. Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. priyankaswonderland says:

    I am seeing all the new too hyped YA books around today and that is what I wanted to say on my blog post that its not like 2-3 years ago YA books anymore, all the books are way too hyped and we end up not liking them. I should have written that more in detail in the post. But you have got a great list! I didn’t read Sarah J. Mass or The Wrath & the Dawn and The Night Circus cause I knew I wouldn’t like them.
    Here’s My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Louise says:

      I really thought I would like ACOTAR and The Night Circus, but I should have know I’d be meh about TW&TD, the romance took up too much of the plot.

      Like

  4. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Oooh! I love that you put the Goodreads rating next to these! That is a wonderful comparison. I wonder how mind pan out… This list fascinates me. The Night Circus is one of those books which I *adore*, but I also disliked City of Bones. It looks like we have only slightly overlapping tastes. How fascinating! This is a great list– I have Vicious on my TBR, but I don’t know if I’m interested…

    My Top Ten Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Maraia says:

    It’s funny that you didn’t like Vicious, since it seems to be most people’s favorite Schwab book. It was the first one I read, and I did like it a lot, but it’s missing that something special that her other books have. I’m glad you liked the Shades of Magic series! I can’t wait to start ACOL later today.

    I did enjoy The Night Circus, but mostly because of the atmosphere. The setting was so beautiful, and I would love to see it as a movie! (Or in real life.) But I didn’t connect to the characters at all or care about their fates.

    I’m happy to see ACOTAR on there because I really hate that book. xD

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

