Bib·li·o·phile Fridays: American Gods

Bib·li·o·phile Fridays is a new weekly meme, co-hosted by Aurora and myself. Please come check us out over at the Goodreads group, we’d love to have you take part.🙂

bibliophilefridays.jpg

January 27: The year’s just getting started, pick 5 books that got you into reading, or into a new genre.

The genre I picked is Magical Realism. I’m just getting into this as a genre and sometimes find it a little difficult to identify so I’ve not read much, but I find it really interesting when I do.

My five choices for this weeks theme.

A little more detail: American Gods by Neil Gaiman.

Summary.

Days before his release from prison, Shadow’s wife, Laura, dies in a mysterious car crash. Numbly, he makes his way back home. On the plane, he encounters the enigmatic Mr Wednesday, who claims to be a refugee from a distant war, a former god and the king of America.

Together they embark on a profoundly strange journey across the heart of the USA, whilst all around them a storm of preternatural and epic proportions threatens to break.

Scary, gripping and deeply unsettling, American Gods takes a long, hard look into the soul of America. You’ll be surprised by what – and who – it finds there..

 

About the Author- From Website.

Image result for neil gaimanNeil Gaiman was born in Hampshire, UK, and now lives in the United States near Minneapolis. As a child he discovered his love of books, reading, and stories, devouring the works of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, James Branch Cabell, Edgar Allan Poe, Michael Moorcock, Ursula K. LeGuin, Gene Wolfe, and G.K. Chesterton. A self-described “feral child who was raised in libraries,” Gaiman credits librarians with fostering a life-long love of reading: “I wouldn’t be who I am without libraries. I was the sort of kid who devoured books, and my happiest times as a boy were when I persuaded my parents to drop me off in the local library on their way to work, and I spent the day there. I discovered that librarians actually want to help you: they taught me about interlibrary loans.”

 

Books with a focus on mythology.

7 thoughts on “Bib·li·o·phile Fridays: American Gods

Leave a Reply

