REVIEW: THE HAMMER OF THOR

magnu.png

THE HAMMER OF THOR
AUTHOR: RICK RIORDAN
SERIES: MAGNUS CHASE & THE GODS OF ASGARD, #2
GENRES/ SUBJECTS: YA, URBAN FANTASY, MYTHOLOGY
★★★★☆

GOODREADS LINK

I read this for the #DAReadAThon Prompt: Expellirmus! Features: Muslim MC, Deaf MC, Genderfluid MC

The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #2)Image1 Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high.

 

Image2

I love the Magnus Chase series, it’s easily my favourite of Rick Riordan’s books since the original Percy Jackson and the Olympian, and this one was every bit as good as the first.

description

The action gets started right away and the plot keeps moving along. There’s wonderful cameos from various Norse gods and mythological figures, treated in the usual Riordan style, so they’re never exactly how you’re expecting. The pop-culture references abound and are hilariously funny as is the bantering between our trusty group of heroes. I still love the idea that Thor binge-watches his TV shows through Mjölnir and his man-cave was glorious.

Magus is a great narrator. I love how he’s written and all his little throw away comments and snide remarks. His is definitely my favourite POV since Percy. As wonderful as Magnus is, this books real strength was that it really padded out the supporting characters from the first book (as a good sequel should of course).

Samirah is amazing (again) – balancing the vulnerability she feels about Loki and her relationship with Amir with her badass Valkyrieness. I like they way her religion is handled too. She never seems to have an issue fitting all the gods and magic around her own beliefs.

cry tom hiddleston loki feelings

Hearthstone and his crappy dad broke my heart in this book, even though it was hinted at in the first one. The backstory was so tragic and I just really hope Hearth is able to forgive himself in future books. Similar to Sam’s religion, I liked the way Hearth’s deafness was constantly present but never made a big deal of. The references to ASL or the way the text is formatted is there to show he’s signing but it’s just another aspect of the character. This was also true of the new addition, Alex Fierro, who is gender-fluid and makes it very clear which pronouns Magnus is to use and when.

lgbtqia

When’s the next one out?

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “REVIEW: THE HAMMER OF THOR

    • Louise says:

      I’m still working my way through through the Heroes of Olympus series, but I think this one is much stronger than that one so far.

      Like

  1. Lii says:

    Everytime I read a review of a Rick Riordan Book I feel so left out… I still need to finish the Percy Jackson Series… But I will because I really need to read these last few releases.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Louise says:

      There’s just so many to read! Tbh I think if you wanted you could probably read the Magnus books without the others. There’s a little Annabeth crossover, but nothing major,

      Like

  2. justanothercreativewriter says:

    I read this a few weeks ago and it was so refreshing to see a gender fluid character. Rick Riordan has basically perfected his writing style by now and it means that his books are always highly entertaining and the plot just keeps moving. He manages to keep his books from getting repetitive even through they are all similar. I’m also looking out for the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Louise says:

      Haha! I love his books. I’d start with the original Percy Jackson series if you want to try them, although I think they’re written for slightly younger readers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

