#DiverseReads2017 TBR

My third, and I promise final, year-long reading challenge for 2017. It’s a diverse challenge hosted by Mishma from Chasing Faerytales and Shelly from Read.Sleep.Repeat. Each month has a theme, although you don’t have to use them. I’m going to use each months theme, but I might end up reading them a little out of order. There’s a great recommendation list that you can check out.

This TBR could completely change if I can’t wait and read something early but it’s a rough idea.

January– diverse folklore/mythology
Huntress by Malinda Lo (Chinese Folklore)

Huntress

February– POC Main Character / Biracial / Multiracial
The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie
Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

The Abyss Surrounds Us (The Abyss Surrounds Us, #1)  Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas, #1)

March– main characters with a disability
Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (MC uses a cane)

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)

April– mental health
History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera (Depression/ Grief & OCD)

History Is All You Left Me

May– religious diversity
Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed (Islam)

Written in the Stars

June & July– sexuality and gender identity
Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
The Boy’s Own Manual to Being a Proper Jew by Eli Glasman

Of Fire and Stars  The Boy's Own Manual to Being a Proper Jew

August– non-Western setting
Funny Boy by Shyam Selvadurai (Sri Lanka)
Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor (Nigeria)

Funny Boy  Akata Witch (Akata Witch, #1)

September– #ownvoices
The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

The Library of Fates

October– Intersectionality
Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Queens of Geek

November– diverse retellings
As I Descended by Robin Talley ( Macbeth)

As I Descended

December– 2017 Releases
The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
The Seafarers Kiss by Julia Ember
32890474  The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

10 thoughts on “#DiverseReads2017 TBR

    • Louise says:

      You totally should! 🙂 The recommendations list for this challenge is amazing – there are so many and it’s so organised. I’ll be using it as a general reading list as well as for this challenge I think 🙂

      Like

    • Louise says:

      There are so many really interesting and awesome sounding books out this year — I’m so excited. I might move Labyrinth Lost up my list because I got my copy for Christmas and it looks so good!

      Like

    • Louise says:

      Haha, the two challenges work so well together, I’m sure they will 😉 I love the variety of the prompts they’ve come up with and that reading list is a thing of beauty.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Louise says:

      Don’t feel behind! I just like to plan lol. I think Spindle would be ok. It’s not own voices or a marginalised author but I don’t think this challenge is being specific about that. You could always drop them an email and ask?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

