Bib·li·o·phile Fridays: Time Capsule

Bib·li·o·phile Fridays is a new weekly meme, co-hosted by Aurora and myself. Please come check us out over at the Goodreads group, we’d love to have you take part. 🙂

bibliophilefridays.jpg

Time Capsule. Pick 5 books that were published during the year you were born (bonus points for anyone who manages to find one on their actual birthday).

My five choices for this weeks theme.
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett
Matilda by Roald Dahl
Lioness Rampant by Tamora Pierce
Hellblazer: Original Sins by Jamie Delano, John Ridgway, Alfredo Alcalá

I’m actually surprised how many good books came out in the year I was born (1988)! I’ve actually read all of these and loved everything but The Alchemist. I picked Hellblazer because Constantine is one of my absolute favourite comic book characters. He’s the perfect example of the anti-hero.

A little more detail: Hellblazer: Original Sins by Jamie Delano


Summary.

John Constantine is an unconcerned, amoral occultist with a British working-class background.He’s an anti-hero who manages to come out on top through a combination of luck, trickery and genuine magic skill.V FOR VENDETTA illustrator David Lloyd provides painted artwork for the tale of an encounter with a strange woman who is the embodiment of the world’s horrors.This volume also features some of Constantine’s earliest adventures including his first victory in the long war with the demon Nergal.



The Covers.

133017 29009884 1747345



Some portrayals of John Constantine over the years.

The original drawings of Constantine were apparently based off of the singer Sting in the 1980s.Image result for sting 1980s constantine

 

His appearance has stayed pretty consistent in the Hellblazer series but obviously different artist have given him there own styles. I don’t think any of the live action portrayals have ever captured how dark and complicated he is.

Keanu Reeves played the part in the 2005 movie, Constantine. Avoid.Image result for keanu constantine

 

Matt Ryan takes on the part in the current Constantine series. I was gutted been it was cancelled after season one, so I’m really pleased it’s been pick up for a second season. He does a great job.Image result for keanu constantine

 

Constantine joined up with some other unbalanced heroes in Justice League Dark. There’s a animated film in the works, with Matt Ryan reprising the role.Image result for constantine justice league dark

2 thoughts on “Bib·li·o·phile Fridays: Time Capsule

  1. bookedbybliss says:

    Matilda is one of my favourites by Roald Dahl 🙂 And, of course, I loved Wyrd Sisters too (one of the best of the Discworld series, in my opinion. I didn’t like The Alchemist either. I read it on the recommendation of a friend who was raving about it, and I’d heard so many others talk about what a wonderful book it was, so I figured maybe there was something I wasn’t getting.

    (btw, is that supposed to be 1988 and not 1998?)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Louise says:

    Doh! Thanks for the catch! It should read 1988, I’ll get that fixed, I only wish I was born in 1998, haha!
    I think The Alchemist must be a love or hate thing, because I just didn’t understand what everyone sees in it. I’m glad I read it though, because it is so loved, and I think its good to try new things, but I’ll certainly never reread.

    Like

Leave a Reply

