Bib·li·o·phile Fridays: World War II

Hi folks! This is my first post for the new meme I’m co-hosting, Bib·li·o·phile Fridays. Please come check us out over at the Goodreads group, we’d love to have you take part. 🙂 The great thing about this meme is that you have complete freedom to do what you want with the book you choose to detail.

bibliophilefridays.jpg

November 4 – Daylight Savings Time (Don’t forget to move your clocks backwards on Nov. 6). Since DST was introduced during the first World War, pick out 5 books set during WWI or WWII (the choice is up to you).

My five choices for this weeks theme.
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Wolf by Wolf Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

I’ll be honest, this isn’t my favorite time period to read about (too much in school I guess) so Miss Peregrine’s is the only one I’ve actually read, and I’ve only watched the film of The Book Thief. The other three really appeal to me though, and I hope I get to read them soon.

A little more detail: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.

Amazon UKAmazon USWorderyBook Depository


Summary.

I have two weeks. You’ll shoot me at the end no matter what I do.
That’s what you do to enemy agents. It’s what we do to enemy agents. But I look at all the dark and twisted roads ahead and cooperation is the easy way out. Possibly the only way out for a girl caught red-handed doing dirty work like mine – and I will do anything, anything to avoid SS-Hauptsturmführer von Linden interrogating me again.
He has said that I can have as much paper as I need. All I have to do is cough up everything I can remember about the British War Effort. And I’m going to. But the story of how I came to be here starts with my friend Maddie. She is the pilot who flew me into France – an Allied Invasion of Two.
We are a sensational team.



My Favourite Covers.

11925514.jpg


Some Awesome Fanart.


A Sensational Team
RosaleeLuAnn

I Have Told the Truth
goodbooks-smartbitches

incorrigiblepuckster

3 thoughts on “Bib·li·o·phile Fridays: World War II

Leave a Reply

