Book Traveling Thursday: Start Out Somewhere

BTTBook Traveling Thursday is a weekly event held over on Goodreads by Danielle and Catia.

This week’s topic is We all have to start out of somewhere. Choose a book that got you into reading. This is the book that really got me into YA as a kid, and probably my first ‘go-to author’ and first OTP.

Wild Magic (The Immortals, #1) by Tamora Pierce

Image1

Young Daine’s knack with horses gets her a job helping the royal horsemistress drive a herd of ponies to Tortall. Soon it becomes clear that Daine’s talent, as much as she struggles to hide it, is downright magical. Horses and other animals not only obey, but listen to her words. Daine, though, will have to learn to trust humans before she can come to terms with her powers, her past, and herself.

 

Original 1992

858673

Current cover in my country (UK) – One of my favourites.

24885708.jpg

Favourite covers.

Least Favourite covers. 

 

Which book got you into reading, or which got you into a new genre?

15 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: Start Out Somewhere

  1. Lizzy says:

    The Lunar Chronicles were what turned me back into YA fiction! Until those, I had only read a few (The Hunger Games, and Divergent), but I tore through ALL 4 in about a week and have been voraciously devouring YA ever since.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Louise says:

      The Lunar Chonicles are great, aren’t they? I’m still working my way through but just because challenges etc keep getting in the way.

      Like

    • Louise says:

      Another great one! I’ve reread it a few times over the years and I love that as I get older, my feelings about each character evolve. Such a well written book.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Becca says:

    Holy cannoli BRAIDS!! I have the third book in this series on my book shelf, but still haven’t gotten to reading the first and second ones yet. The white horse cover (middle of your favorites list) is sooooo pretty!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

