TOP 10 TUESDAY: RECOMMENDATIONS

“All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation — Ten Books I’ve Read Because Of Another  Blogger (Or Book Person) or Ten Books I Read On Recommendation From People Outside Of This Community or you could talk about recommendations of books you read from other sources — a magazine, a podcast, a “because you read this” algorithm.” From The Broke and the Bookish.

Since most of the books I read come from impulse buying or various book-blog sightings, I really couldn’t narrow it down for this post. Instead I put 5 books I’ve enjoyed this year into What Should I Read Next, picked one of the subjects listed for it and looked through the similar books for something that interests me.

The first of each pair is the one I’ve read, the second is the recommendation.

image1

A Court of Thorns & Roses – Sarah J Maas
Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake

image2

Shadow and Bone – Leigh Bardugo
Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare

image3

Splintered – A.G. Howard
The Bonesetter’s Daughter – Amy Tan

image4

Ready Player One – Ernest Cline
Heroes Die – Matthew Stovers

image5

The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch
White Cat – Holly Black

22 thoughts on “TOP 10 TUESDAY: RECOMMENDATIONS

  1. Rissi says:

    I’ve heard good things about “Ready Player One” and would really like to read a novel by Sarah J. Maas. (Other someday read!) Also, “Splintered” sounds like an interesting and unique read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kumoshi says:

    These all look really good! Sadly, I haven’t read any of them yet but I have been meaning to read A Court of Thorns and Roses, as well as the Infernal Devices series, since I’ve been recommended to read those too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lizzy says:

    Oh, A Court of Thorns and Roses – the series – is SO GOOD! The second book is 10x better than the first, but I love them both. 🙂 I just ordered Anna Dressed in Blood as a result of seeing it on SO MANY of the TBR lists for the Halloween Readathon, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Louise says:

      I’m not usually a fan of these algorithms but this one was quite fun. Acts of Caine & The Bonesetters Daughter are new to me too (I’d at least heard of the others) but I’m definately going to give them a go.

      Like

    • Louise says:

      Good to know you enjoyed Anna, I’m hoping to get around to it for a Halloween readathon soon. I’d totally recommend both Splintered and ACOTAR.

      Like

  4. N and L @ PagePixies says:

    I’ve only read a few of these (aka just Clockwork Angel and ACOTAR whoops).. time to add the others to my TBR 🙂
    How did you like the Infernal Devices?? It’s one of my all time favorites<3

    Like

  5. ashfaanwer says:

    Oh, I loved The Bonesetter’s Daughter! And I’ve had The Lies of Locke Lamora on my TBR for so long now.High time I get started on that one. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

