Halloween ReadAThon TBR

Halloween Readathon

I’m a total nut for Halloween, magic and all things kitchy-creepy, so this readathon created by Lauren @ Wonderlessreviews, is right up my street. October is a busy month for me, with both a Bachelorette weekend and a 3-day wedding, but I’m going to give it my best shot. Here’s my initial (and open to change) TBR.

costume-partyPretty self explanatory. There’s no “guidelines” if you think a cover is creepy for whatever reason then it counts!

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #2)  – Ransom Riggs  – 2014

 

haunted-houseBy Supernatural or Paranormal I mean books that feature things such as: ghosts, vampires, witches, werewolves ect.

White Cat (Curseworkers #1) – Holly Black – 2011

 

urban-legendsIn my opinion people are scarier than monsters so for Horror or Thriller this means a book where real people are the ones who are causing all the scariness.

We Have Always Lived in the CastleShirley Jackson – 1962 – I’ve been meaning to read this forever, especially since I found out Sebastian Stan is going to be in the adaption, this will be good motivation.

 

witching-hourAgain, pretty self explanatory. Fun fact: the witching hour is 3am-4am, but obviously I’m not going to force you all to read at that time 😅. Unless you’re like me and have insomnia. So just read a book after the sun has set!

I read quite a lot at night before bed, usually a paperback while I leave my ebooks and audiobooks for during the day. I’ll wait and see what I’m ready to start nearer to the start of the readathon.

 

trick-or-treatThere’s two options for this challenge. You can choose TRICK and read a scary book you’ve been putting off OR you can choose TREAT and read any book you want from ANY genre (not just horrors ect.)

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) – Cassandra Clare – 2008 – It’s a paranormal book (so Halloween-y) and its a series I’m trying to finish this year.

 

all-hallows-eveRead six books! Your sixth book can be any scary book you want. Only do this if you want! I know how it is to feel intimidated by read-a-thons so I really wanted to try and make this as relaxing as possible. There’s probably no way I’m going to be able to do this, but it’s fun to try!

Another one I’ll decide if I get to this stage.

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Halloween ReadAThon TBR

  1. Maggie says:

    Nice list! I’m curious about Clare’s Mortal Instruments series too; I didn’t think to add her to my list. I’ve only read Clockwork Angel by her, but I’m anxious to get started on City of Bones! Happy spooky reading and good luck! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Antonela R. says:

    Oh, shoot! I’m really late for this readathon, but I liked this list of books so much I’ve already written it down for next Halloween 😀
    I’ve read great things about We have always lived in the castle, though some people say the story is not about what the title might suggest. Sounds spooky anyway, so… Perfect!

    Like

    • Louise says:

      Yeah, I just finished it and it’d definitely not what I thought it would be. I think its more the atmosphere that makes it creepy not the actual story. It was very good though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

