TOP 10 TUESDAY: All About Audio

“All About Audio freebie —  aka top ten audiobooks you should listen to, 10 books I want to listen to on audio,10 bands you should check out, 10 podcasts you should be listening to, 10 of my all time favorite albums, 10 songs I love, really whatever you can come up with.” From The Broke and the Bookish.

I’m lucky that I get through quite a lot of audiobooks while I’m at work. For this weeks topic I’ve chosen my favourite audiobooks and their narrators. These aren’t necessarily my favourite books (although that might play a part), but the ones which I think have the best narration.

Image result for game of thrones audiobook

The Game of Thrones series by G. R. R. Martin
Narrated by Roy Dotrice
Anyone who can create and keep track of the voices for so many characters definitely has a talent for audio narration.

Image result for discworld audiobook briggs

The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett
Narrated by Nigel Planner (Books 1-23, except 3 & 9)
Narrated by Stephen Briggs (Books 24-46)
Narrated by Tony Robinson (Abridged versions)
Probably my favourite audiobook performances ever and definitely my favourite book series. Briggs is definitely my favourite of the three narrator, although I don’t mind Planner at all either. I don’t like Robinson’s and the fact they’re abridged doesn’t help.

Image result for artemis fowl audiobook

The Artemis Fowl series by Eion Colfer
Narrated by Nathanial Parker (books 1-5, 7, 8)
Narrated by  Enn Reitel (book 6)
I didn’t really enjoys Reitel’s narration, possibly just because I was so used to Nathaniel  Parker. I’m sure both do a perfectly good job. I love Parker’s performance though, so I was happy when he returned for book 7. I’ve not listened to book 8 yet but I’m hoping that will be Parker too.

Image result for song of achilles audiobook

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
Narrated by Frazer Douglas
Douglas has a beautifully soft voice that’s lovely to listen to and perfectly suits the story and character of Patroclus.

Image result for ready player one audiobook

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Narrated by Wil Wheaton
Wheaton has a really distinctive voice and it took me a while to adjust but once I did, I really enjoyed his performance.

Image result for scarlet audiobook mayer

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Narrated by Rebecca Soler
I didn’t listen to Cinder but really enjoyed Soler’s performance of Scarlet. She does a great job on the different voices and accents and I’d happily listen to her reading of the rest of The Lunar Chronicles.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
Narrated by Michael Page
This is a long audiobook, clocking in at over 22 hours, so it’d be impossible to get through if the narrator was awful. Page is very good though. He perfectly handles some tricky names and a large cast, giving the characters distinctive voices, and even alters these voices when the characters are in disguise.

36 thoughts on “TOP 10 TUESDAY: All About Audio

    • Louise says:

      I struggled with the books until I watched S1 of the show. For the rest I enjoyed the audio but I think I would still have struggled with physical copies.

      Like

  1. Got My Book says:

    I love Stephen Briggs & Discworld, especially the Tiffany Aching books and Going Postal. / They actually rereleased AF 6 with Nathaniel Parker, so I’m glad I passed on the Reitel version. / I thought Wil Wheaton was perfect & loved it when he got to call himself a geezer. / I didn’t love Cinder, but the narration kept me going and I liked Scarlet a lot better.

    My TTT: “Dear Audiobook Producers: I Really Want These”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Louise says:

      Thanks for the info, I had no idea there was a Parker version. Dang.

      Yeah, I loved that some of the joke came over even better when you knew it was Wheaton reading.

      Like

    • Louise says:

      I’ve been meaning to read Locke Lamora for ages, but yeah , lately it’s everywhere. There’s another book in the series being released soon I think.

      Like

  2. Becca says:

    Altering character voices while they’re in disguise? That makes me really curious! At 22 hours though…. I might be able to do it in snippets? Idk – the Discworld and Artemis Fowl books are so much fun to read, I bet they’d be a blast to listen to! Nice list – gives lots of good ideas for us non-audiobook listeners. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. novelcravings says:

    Lies of Locke Lamora is on my TBR this year so maybe I should listen to it?! SAme with Ready Player One. Good to know – thank you. Also I cannot imagine doing all the voice in Game of Thones, they must be the Tatiana Maslany of the narrating world. LOL

    Like

  4. Annemieke says:

    Oh it is just one narrator for Game of Thrones? That is pretty great. Oh listening to Discworld on audio would potentially help me get through them quicker since I could listen to them and do something else. But I also tried Dodger, not sure who narrated that, and had a hard time with it to the point I stopped listening.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

