TOP 10 TUESDAY: X GENRE

“ Top Ten ALL TIME Favorite Books Of X Genre (I know, I know. Picking all time faves. I’m MEAN. But I like knowing people’s definitive faves). Can also break it down into sub-genre if that helps?” From The Broke and the Bookish.

 

Favourite Fairy Tales and Retellings

Image1.png

Spindles End: Robin McKinley
The Princess Series: Jim C. Hines
Truth in the Dark: Amy Lane

Image1.png

The Princess and the Goblin: George MacDonald
The Lunar Chronicles: Marissa Meyer
The Woodcutter: Kate Danley

Image1.png

Beauty: Robin McKinley
Uprooted: Naomi Novik
A Court of Thorns and Roses Series: Sarah J Maas
Scarlet and the White Wolf Series: Kirby Crow

 

34 thoughts on “TOP 10 TUESDAY: X GENRE

    • Ellis Ferrell says:

      The Woodcutter definitely had it’s own style. I couldn’t read it everyday, but I liked t for that particular novel. I hope you enjoy any you read 🙂

      Like

  1. Amy @ Pages of Starlight says:

    I like retellings, but there’s a few on here I’ve never even heard of before – I’ll have to check them out. I’ve definitely got to say, I’m so glad someone else had read Hines Princess series. So far I’ve only read the first two, but I love the girls and the books are just amazing. Totally underrated and more people need to give it a go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ellis Ferrell says:

      I love how different they are from most other retellings. I think new editions were recently released so hopefully they’ll get a bit more attention.

      Like

  2. Jamie Wu says:

    I love fairy tale retellings. I wasn’t aware that Uprooted is one. Bumping it up my TBR list. Cinder is amazing. I really love the Lunar Chronicles. I have ACOTAR on my TBR too. I really enjoyed the Throne of Glass series, might have to read ACOTAR sooner rather than later.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jesshenry1989 says:

    I adore Fairy Tale retellings! I have a Snow White retelling in Victorian-esque England where the MC is named Jessica. I felt, at the time, that I had to have it because our shared name. (Snow by Tracy Lynn).
    And I love, love, love Uprooted! And McKinley novels! And Cinder! And ooh, what’s the Woodcutter? It looks all intriguing.
    Ty for sharing! 🙂 Great list!

    Like

  4. Becca says:

    The Lunar Chronicles, Uprooted and ACOTAR are soooo good! Never heard of Woodcutter, but it definitely looks interesting. Hines’ series has been on my wishlist for a while, glad to know it is good. 😀 Have you read As Red As Blood? It’s a VERY loose retelling or mish mash of Snow White/Grimm fairytales based in modern day Finland with a thriller/suspense plot. The sequels aren’t as fabulous, but the first book is EPIC.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ellis Ferrell says:

      I haven’t read it, but I’ll keep an eye out for a copy, thanks 🙂
      Hines series’ is really good, I’d definately recommend giving it a try.

      Like

Leave a Reply

