Book-tag: Norse Mythology 1

I’ve been excited for The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2) since I finished The Sword of Summer. In anticipation of its release (*squee*) here’s a Norse Mythology themed book-tag in three parts. If you’d like to fill it out, feel free to drop a link in the comments, I’d love to read your answers.

norse2

Tyr
God of War.
A book where conflict plays a major role.
Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
The entire ASOIAF series is packed with conflict, but this was my favourite book overall. There political conflict and the power struggles between the Houses. There’s Ned’s conflict with the Lannisters as he tries to uncover who killed Robert Arryn. There’s conflict within families – Daenerys, Viserys and Drogo, Arya and Sansa etc. And of course the supernatural conflict with the Whitewalkers.

Baldur
God of beauty, innocence, peace, and rebirth.
A book with a beautiful cover.
Arabella of Mars by David D. Levine
This book is still on my TBR shelf but it’s right at the top and it was the gorgeous cover art that first drew me to it.

Sif
Goddess of harvest.
A series or author that keeps you coming back for more.
The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett
I can’t think of another series where I’ve read so many books without losing interest in the characters. I’ll admit I like some more than others, but I’ve read most the books at least twice, some many more than that.

Freyr
God of fertility.
A couple that were meant to be.
Jane Eyre and Edward Rochester (Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë)
The original broody, misunderstanding romance story. I was heartbroken when it looked like their relationship was falling apart, but it just made the reunion all the more poignant. After all she goes through, if anyone deserves her happy ending, it’s Jane.

Idunn
Goddess of youth.
A book featuring either a child or an elderly protagonist
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
It was the unusual narrator that drew me in, because I don’t usually go for this type of story, but this book is so beautifully written it won me over. Liesel is a wonderfully believable little girl living in a terrible situation and her friendship with Rudy is adorable.

Leave a Reply

