Review: City of Bones

city


City_of_Bones

City of Bones
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series: The Mortal Instruments, #1
Genres: YA, romance, urban-fantasy
Rating: ***½

Goodreads Link

 

Image1When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Image2I think my main problem with this book wasn’t really with the book itself. The Mortal Instruments has such a large fanbase and such a lot of hype surrounding it that my expectations were probably set far to high for the first book in a series. The plot twists lost some of their power because I had a vague knowledge of how they turn out, but I can see how to an unsuspecting reader their would have been some real shocks. I also struggled to like or really care about the characters until very near the end and felt the story was slow to get going because of too much exposition. Both these problems are common to books which set up a series though and I’m sure as the characters develop and the story gets deeper, I’ll get past both issues.

I did really enjoy the world Clare has set up, with lots of complex history and types of potential allies and antagonists. My favourite chapter was actually The Werewolf’s Tale and I really hope we find out more about that time period. In fact, I’d just like an outright Luke spin-off, because I think there’s a lot in that chapter which could be expanded upon.

I did enjoy the book, but I didn’t love it. I’m interested enough to read the next few books though and will hopefully fall in love with the characters as much as everyone else has — even if I am running a little behind the crowd.

4 thoughts on “Review: City of Bones

Leave a Reply

