TOP 10 TUESDAY: Outside of the UK, US & ROI

With X Setting (top ten books set near the beach, top ten book set in boarding school, top ten books set in England, etc)” From The Broke and the Bookish.

“Top Ten Books Outside of the U.S.” was a themed a few months ago and I wasn’t very impressed with what I came up with. Six of my ten books were set in the UK/ROI which seemed like a bit of a cheat. It’s also a bit disheartening that I read more books set in made up fantasy lands than real countries not my own. Since then, I’ve made an effort to read books set outside of my comfort zone so I thought I’d try the topic again with a bit more variety.

Ten Books Set Outside of the UK, US & ROI

Image3

Marina – Carlos Ruiz Zafón (Spain)
Night of the Mir’aj – Zoë Ferraris (Saudi Arabia)
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (Russia)

Image4

Crocodile on the Sandbank – Elizabeth Peters (Egypt)
Cinder – Marissa Meyer (China, New Bejing)
Love in a Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez (Columbia)

Image1

Frankenstein – Mary Shelley (Switzerland, Germany)
The Twentieth Wife – Indu Sundaresan (India)
The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas (France)
The Silver Pigs – Linda Davies (Italy)

11 thoughts on “TOP 10 TUESDAY: Outside of the UK, US & ROI

  1. rachelburden says:

    Oow lovely list. I may have to add these to my TBR for next year. I want to read books from around the world as a sort of Eurovision tribute lol. I’ve read Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo but I really want to read her previous Grisha Trilogy, what did you think of it? Cinder was amazing and I really need to finish that series… why are there so many books and so few hours in the day?

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ellis Ferrell says:

      A Eurovision tribute reads sounds so much fun! I’ve actually only read a few chapters of the first Grisha book, but I loved the way the Russian influence seemed to create a whole other depth to the world. Cinder was amazing – I blew through it – but I’ve seen a really nice boxset coming out so I’m holding out for that now 😦 I’ve not read Six of Crows yet, but I see good things?

      Like

    • Ellis Ferrell says:

      I think the problem is I read so much fantasy, very little is in the real world at all. I’m going to make a concentrated effort though. 😄

      Like

Leave a Reply

