Olympics Book Tag

Image2.png

Big thanks to Emma, at Reading Through the Night, for tagging me. It’s been fun to find more out about some of the amazing female athletes competing in Rio 2016.


Artistic Gymnastics

Artistic gymnastics is all about grace and beauty, especially on beam and floor, but if you only flex your toes for just a second on any other event, such as bars or vault, it can lead to a deduction that can cost you your golden medal. That’s why I want to know: What is a beautifully written book?

gymnastics.png

Becky Downie is member of the Team GB women’s artistic gymnastics team. She and her younger sister are both on the team and competing at Rio 2016.

 

Athletics

Athletics is all about speed. In most events the fastest person wins, but in other events your speed is also an important part of your chance yo win that gold medal. So you can really say that speed is key. That is why I want to know: What is a fast paced book?

athletics.png

The incredibly talented Jessica Ennis-Hill competes in multiple disciplines. At Rio she came first in the 100m hurdles.

The Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer are fast-paced adventures. They’re basically magical action movies in paper format.

 

Beach Volleyball

Beach Volleyball reminds me so much of summer! I mean, you can only play it on the beach, it is fun to do with friends. It makes you forgive all of the sand for getting into places you don’t actually want sand. That’s why I want to know: What is a perfect book for summer?

beach.png

GB has no women’s beach Beach Volleyball team, so here’s Canada’s Sarah Pavan & Heather Bansley being awesome.

I don’t really read any of the books that get touted as ‘summer’ or ‘beach’ books, so instead, here’s the last book that I read on an actual beach – Seeds by M.M. Kin.

 

Diving

Divers is all about getting into that water without making a splash, but it is also about strength and, when performed by two divers, about synchronicity. But all in all the fact that they dive that far into the water, knowing that when they mess up, it hurts is very respectable. That’s why I want to know: What is a book you read without knowing anything about it before you started.

diving.png

Synchronized diving team, Tonia Couch and Lois Toulson came in 5th in the 10m platform dive.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child! I was so careful not to get spoiled for this one. I avoided all reviews, promos, everything! I knew absolutely nothing about it when I started reading except the 19 years later tagline and the title.

 

Equestrian

It’s all about the horses with this sport, they are as important as the athletes who ride them. It is amazing how much these animals can do! That’s why I want to know: Who is your favorite bookish animal? (it can be a fantasy animal like a dragon)

riding.png

Rider Fiona Bigwood and her beautiful, beautiful horse.

More Harry Potter picks I’m afraid, but I just have to choose hippogriffs, especially Buckbeak. And then of course there’s Hedwig, the worlds more heroic owl.
Rhythmic Gymnastics

Rhythmic Gymnastics is all about flexibility. Gymnasts perform all kinds of contortionistic moves, and that all while keeping their eye on a prop. And they are also able to include this prop in their, often graceful routines. It hurts my back looking at it, but I want to know: Who do you find a very flexible writer?

rhythem.png

Team Belarus, looking amazing and colourful.

I think for this I’ll pick Jim Butcher. The Dresden Files is urban fantasy/ detective and one of my absolute favourite series but he’s also written really good high fantasy in the Codex Alera, and The Cinder Spires, a really original steampunk/ airship story.

 

I’m just going to go ahead and tag anyone who want to give this one a go, since the Games are only on for a limited amount of time.

6 thoughts on “Olympics Book Tag

    • Ellis Ferrell says:

      I hope you enjoy it 🙂 I’ve only read the first one but I’ve always liked the Persephone myth so it caught my eye. I really mean to finish the series someday.

      Like

    • Ellis Ferrell says:

      It was definately the question I took longest to think of but once I thought of one I realised there’s quite a few cool animals in the series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

