Reading Challenge & Reviews

I stole this reading challenge checklist from bookwyrmknits, (I think its from 2015 but that doesn’t matter) I thought it might help me sort through my TRB list in some kind of order. Often I’ve got so many choices I end up flailing around and just rereading something. I like checklists and this’ll make me more productive.

book-challenge1-from-bookwyrmknits.png

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (****) – I don’t really know what to write as this is such a classic but Shelley’s prose is haunting and beautiful to read. I’m also blown away that she actually managed to make me care about the two lead narrators – Frankenstein and the Monster – because they’re both pretty unlikable characters. I did sort of expect the actual creation of the monster to play a larger part, but I think that was due to movies/ pop culture expectations and there was plenty of other things to keep me interested. A wonderful book, still holding it’s own.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (****) – I really liked this book, the story’s a great mystery and the vintage photographs are used in a clever way slotting into the narrative, creating both a fun gimmick and a lot of atmosphere. Obviously, since the film adaption hasn’t been released yet, I can’t really compare the two but from the current info, it’s looks pretty good. Eva Green is younger than I pictured Miss Peregrine, but I love her in almost everything so I’m not complaining, and all of the children look wonderfully cast. I’m on the fence about Tim Burton directing. If he can go back to something a bit more subtle than his more recent work (along the lines of Edward Scissorhands, Sleepy Hollow) I think his style will work well but I’d be disappointed if it goes all Dark Shadows/ Charlie & the Chocolate Factory.

The Light Princess by George MacDonald (****) – A short story with a Sleeping Beauty type premise – a king forgets to invite his sister (who is also a witch) to his daughters christening. She of course curses the child. Not to sleep in this instance, but to lose her gravity. The plot sounds a little ridiculous but MacDonald manages to pull it off by the way in which it is written. He has an old-fashioned, magical way of writing that is beautiful and perfect for fairytales. The Light Princess is full of fairytale staples – songs, play on words and well-worn tropes (the prince in disguise, the wicked witch, the foolish king etc.)

3 thoughts on “Reading Challenge & Reviews

  1. aubreyleaman says:

    I love Frankenstein, too! Good point about Shelley getting the reader to like the unlikable characters…it reminds me of Wuthering Heights, if you’ve read that! I haven’t read The Light Princess, but it sounds really interesting and magical! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ellis Ferrell says:

      Oh, I love Wuthering Heights too! And I know exactly what you mean. I adored Heathcliff as a teenager but rereading as a adult I wondered what on earth I’d been thinking.

      Liked by 1 person

      • aubreyleaman says:

        It’s one of my favorite books, though I can’t really explain why! It’s so dark and the characters are so messed up but I love it anyway. Maybe the characters’ personalities fit the location of the moors??

        Like

Leave a Reply

